National Ranking TT

Sub-Junior gold for Anukram, Prapti

TN’s Vishwas claims Cadet title

Chennai, August 12: Anukram Jain, the No. 3 seed, seems to have ended his gold medal hunt finally when he beat Delhi’s Shivjit Singh Lamba 4-3 in the final for the maiden Sub-Junior Boys title in the ongoing National Ranking (South Zone) Table Tennis Championships here at the Jawaharlal Nehru multi-purpose Indoor Stadium.

The Sub-Junior Girls crown went to West Bengal’s Prapti Sen who blanked out her North Bengal rival 4-0 in today’s final. Prapti was returning to active table tennis after a brief break which seems to have done a world of good to her in the new season.

The match between Shivjit and Anukram had all the thrills of a final with fortunes fluctuating from one extreme to another. In fact, Anukram was sitting pretty with a 3-1 lead before the Delhi lad pushed his opponent hard on the back foot by winning the fifth and sixth games to give a real
scare to Anukram.

The PSPBA boy, with all his skills and good attacking game, had finished only as a bridesmaid last year, with Manav Thakkar being his nemesis on almost all occasions in the final. Probably, the same thought must have crossed his mind when Shivjit equalled the score. But, throwing wind to caution, the PSPB academy boy played like a champion to outwit his Delhi opponent in the decider.

In Cadet Boys, Tamil Nadu’s Vishwa Deenadayalan kept the local appetite to the full brim and came up with trumps when he beat Delhi’s Payas Jain 4-3. The match went down to the wire and it was Vishwa’s perseverance that prevailed over Payas who has a zonal title to his credit last year.

In fact, the local boy had no reason to panic after running away with a 3-0 lead but the pressure of a maiden final seems to have caught up with him even as Payas, known for his gritty performance, put up a brave front to level the score. However, with the crowd behind him Viswa stopped his rival at seven points in the decider.

But in the Cadet Girls, Tamil Nadu was not so luck as Nehal Suriya Naranan had to satisfy herself with the silver medal as Delhi’s Lakshita Narang beat the local girl 4-1 in what turned out to be a one-sided affair. But in earlier rounds, Nehal showed her prowess and deservingly reached the final. Lakshita, with good skill and better game plan, claimed the crown.

Meanwhile, the qualification rounds in the Junior Boys and Girls sections have begun and the main draw events will take place tomorrow evening.


*Sub-Junior Boys*:
*Final*: Anukram Jain (PSPBA) bt Shivjit Singh Lamba (Dli) 5-11, 11-8, 11-5, 11-9, 9-11, 7-11, 11-6;
*Semifinals*: Manush Shah (Guj) bt Shivjit Singh Lamba (Dli) 7-11, 11-2, 15-13, 8-11, 11-2, 8-11, 8-11; Anukram Jain (PSPB-A) bt Alberto Lrruata (PSPB-A) 6-11, 11-7, 11-8, 7-11, 11-4, 11-5; *Quarterfinals*: Manush Shah (Guj) bt Soumyodip Ghosh (WB) 11-8, 12-10, 12-10, Shivjit Singh Lamba (Dli) bt Gaurav Lohapatre (Mhr-B) 11-7, 13-11, 11-5; Anukram Jain (PSPB-A) bt Wesley Do Rosario (Goa) 11-4, 11-3, 11-6; Alberto Lrruata (PSPB-A) bt Satyam Giri Gupta (UP) 11-6, 11-7, 11-6.

*Sub-Junior Girls*:
*Final*: Prapti Sen (WB) bt Nikita Sarkar (NB) 11-7, 11-9, 11-8, 11-6;
*Semifinals*: Prapti Sen (WB) bt Diya Chitale (Mhr) 11-9, 10-12, 11-8, 11-7, 11-6; Nikita Sarkar (NB) bt Esther Agnes Johndurai (TN) 10-12, 8-11, 12-10, 11-9, 14-16, 11-4, 12-10;
*Quarterfinals*: Prapti Sen (WB) bt Manushree Patil (Mhr-B) 6-11, 11-8, 12-10, 11-8; Esther Agnes
Johndurai (TN) bt Anusha Kutumbale (Mhr-B) 11-8, 11-7, 6-11, 11-7; Nikita Sarkar (NB) bt Tanisi Kirtani (Goa) 11-8, 11-5, 11-5; Diya Chitale (Mhr-A) bt KowishikaVenkateshan (TN) 17-19, 11-7, 11-8, 9-11, 16-14.

*Cadet Boys*:
*Final*: Vishwa Deenadayalan (TN) bt Payas Jain (Dli) 12-10, 11-1, 11-9, 7-11, 8-11, 5-11, 11-7;
*Semifinals*: Payas Jain (Dli) bt Soumyadeep Sarkar (NB) 11-8, 11-4, 11-7; Vishwa Deenadayalan (TN) bt Divyansh Srivastava (UP) 11-8, 20-18, 8-11, 11-4;
*Quarterfinals*: Payas Jain (Dli) bt Sri Ram Ram J (TN) 11-1, 11-9, 11-7; Divyansh Srivastava (UP) bt Anuj Mahipal (TN) 7-11, 11-5, 9-11, 11-6, 11-4; Vishwa Deenadayalan (TN) bt Rudra Narayan Ghosh (WB) 9-11, 11-4, 11-7, 6-11, 11-7; Soumyadeep Sarkar (NB) bt Varun Ganesh (TN) 11-7, 11-9, 2-11, 15-13.

*Cadet Girls*:
*Final*: Lakshita Narang (Dli) bt Nehal Suriya Narayanan (TN) 9-11, 12-10, 11-3, 11-5, 11-7;
*Semifinals*: Nehal Suriya Narayanan (TN) bt Kheya Shah (Mhr-B) 11-8, 11-6, 11-4; Lakshita Narang (Dli) bt Anargya Manjunath (Knt) 11-4, 9-11, 5-11, 13-11, 11-6;
*Quarterfinals*:Nehal Suriya Narayanan (TN) bt Shreya Shiva Kumar (TN) 11-8, 6-11, 11-6, 16-14; Kheya Shah (Mhr-B) bt Bhaavitha Nagulapalli (Telg) 8-11, 11-8, 11-2, 11-7; Anargya Manjunath (Knt) bt Kavyasree Baskar (TN) 11-4, 11-8, 11-7; Lakshita Narang (Dli) bt Tiyasa Chatterjee (WB) 11-7, 12-10, 9-11, 11-3.

Leave a Comment