36th Tamil Nadu Masters’ Athletic Championships at Karur District

36th Tamil Nadu Masters’ Athletic Championships at Karur District

Thiru. W.I.Davaram IPS DGP (Trd), President of Tamil Nadu Masters Athletic Association, spoken in the Press Meet held on 27.11.2017 at Chennai, that the 36th Tamil Nadu Masters’ Athletic Championships will be held at TNPL Grounds, Pugalore, Karur District on 9th and 10th December 2017. This State Championships is Organising by the Karur District Masters’ Athletic Association under the auspiciouis guidance of the State Body.

More than 1600 Athletes (Men & Women) will represent their Districts of Tamil Nadu, in this Championship. The Age Groupis classified as 35+ 40+ 50+ …. upto 95 years for both Men and Women. All the events of Athletic are being conducted every year. Last year this Meet was conducted by Chennai Dist Masters Athletic Association.

The qualified Men and Women Athletes will be selected to represent Tamil Nadu for the National Championships which will be held at Bangalore from 21st to 25th February 2018. The selected Athletes in the National Meet will represent India in the forthcoming World Championships to be held at Spain next year. Last year Tamil Nadu Team clinched over all Championship in the National Meet held at Hyderabad. 33 athletes of Tamil Nadu represented India in the 20th Asian Championships held at Rugoa – Chinafrom 24th to 28th September, 2017. Tamil Nadu Team secured 35 medals. (6 gold, 17 silver and 12 bronze). The medal winners will be honoured in this Meet. The President/TNMAA will be the Chief Guest in the Viledictory function. The District Collector and Superintendent of Police of Karur District will also be attended the inaugural and Valedictory functions.

The Trophy in the memory of Ex-Chief Minister J.Jayalalitha will be awarded to the District who scores top Medals in this Meet every year

Karur District Masters Athletic Association will provide free accomodation and foot to all the participants. Walking competition for all age groups will be conducted at 3 pm on 8th December 2017.

The Secretary Shri. P.Palanichamy, Treasurer Smt. R.Radhamani, Shri.Amutha Subramanian, President and M.Balu, Secretary of Karur District and Office bearers of the Association present in the Press Meet.

Leave a Comment