First win for Delhi’s Mamta Modern

21st Day 56th Subroto Cup Football Tournament

21st Day Subroto Cup New Delhi, October 1: Mamta Modern Senior Secondary finally came into its own when its boys handed out a facile 1-0 defeat to West Bengal’s Rajgang MN High School from West Bengal in their Pool D match in a Junior Boys (Under-17) encounter of the 56th Subroto Cup International Football Tournament. On a busy day in the Subroto Cup event, which is on its last leg, Thursday saw as many as 11 matches played, both at the NWC ground and Ambedkar Stadium. After a long while this season, a Delhi outfit finally beat an opponent who had yesterday beat The Shri Ram School, another team from Delhi NRC. In that sense, it was satisfying for the Mamta Modern boys who, after leading 1-0 through Abhishek’s early goal, stoutly defended their citadel from falling to earn full points. Similarly, the Indian Railways boys can also take heart from the fact that they managed to post a 1-0 win over Sainik School from Uttarakhand. Rahul, who struck the lone winner, did it in the last minute of the match, thanks to a defence lapse as he latched on to the cross from right to slot in. In another low-scoring match, Army Boys Sports Company, who scored heavily against Ahmedabad school yesterday, managed a 1-0 win over Kerala’s MSP Higher Secondary School from Mallapuram. It was an upset of sorts, considering that the Kerala boys had lifted the title last year and were expected to win against the Shillong outfit. Benzong’s 56th minute strike was good enough to earn the Army Boys full points. Surprisingly, St Xavier’s School, who lost to Pool A leader Army Boys yesterday, beat Rani Seethai Aachi Higher Secondary School from Cuddalore (Tamil Nadu) 2-0 when Charles (37th minute) and Vashist (56) scored. The Bangladesh boys, who opened with a 3-0 win over Railways, today failed to do an encore and lost 0-1 to a better Little Angels Pradise School from Wangbal (Manipur) in pool B. The lone winner came from the boot of Y. Sushil Kumar in the 23rd minute. Coming to high-scoring matches, Meghalaya’s Mawsura RC Upper Primary School beat Daman & Diu 11-0 in pool D. With no efforts coming from the Moti Daman side, the Meghalaya boys were swarming all over and scoring at will. Andhson Lapang and Chaster Makroh contributed three goals each while other teammates too struck to complete the task. In a pool C match, Sports Authority of India, Salt Lake, redeemed themselves with a 3-1 win over the Maharashtra school. For the winners Ankam, Chandra Mohan, and Fakira struck while Yash scored for the losers. However, it was Yash’s goal that gave the lead in the 32nd minute for the Maharashtra side but the SAI team came back well not only to restore parity but also add two more to the tally to emerge winners. In a clash of northeastern teams, Assam’s Betkuchi School boys thrashed Sikkim’s Central Pendam Senior Secondary School 7-0 in another pool C match. Maximum contribution came from Tranzal as he scored three times while four of his team mates added to the tally. Odisha’s Town High School (Sundargarh) beat The Shri Ram School 8-1 with both Bijoy and Prasanta scoring a brace each with others joining the goal-spree. But the worse performance came from the Car Nicobar team, Government Senior Secondary School from Malacca as they lost 1-14 to Mizoram’s Government Bazaar High School, Lunglel. Four goals came from Lalnun Puia for the winners while the lone goal for the Car Nicobar side was struck by Theodul in the 25th minute. Another Delhi outfit, Air Force Bal Bharti School, tasted defeat when they were beated by NCC in pool B. A brace for the winners was scored by Rohit while Jaideep reduced the margin.

Leave a Comment